SPIRITED BIRDS WORKSHOP . . . We did it !!!

Published by

on

 

I was to start in April teaching the Spirited Birds Workshop in Kansas City but one day in March we sat in the oncologists office to learn that travelling and teaching was no longer going to be possible.

Seven and a half weeks ago I began herceptin and chemotherapy treatments for breast cancer.

It came out of the blue as a sore spot on my breast and within two months the diagnosis was confirmed. The cancer was agressive and urgent.

 

 

We postponed classes on Vancouver Island until spring of 2020 but Kansas City was scheduled to begin too close to cancel which meant it was time to get creative!

My friend and colleague Joyce Cloutman kindly agreed to be there to teach on my behalf. Our coordinator Donna Harryman kindly took the lead and let students know my news and gave them the option to withdraw or attend the class I would now prepare via video sessions with Joyce as facilitator.

 

 

I  then turned to the immediate task : create the video series of instruction and guidance for the week long sessions. Serendipitously as I finished this project I felt my energy decline, something I was told would come with chemotherapy.

I pressed send on my folder full of videos and class got underway.

 

 

I am so proud of the work everyone accomplished as well as the hearts that grew together during this time, I cannot express it well enough other than WE DID IT!!!

 

 

 

Those who know me know I love to teach, mostly because I love who my life touches through my teaching. My students and my coordinatiors are why I am this capable experienced person and the method that I rely on has been develpoed and tested with of all of you.

 

 

So . . . how interesting I am now going to be able to travel via a virtual teaching path and develop some on-line workshops !!

The images in this post are of some of the Spirited Birds and Spirit Riders the students created this past week, I am thrilled . . .

Three cheers for a big success!

 

 

 

p.s.

this has been an amazing journey and I am only at an early point along this road but I have to say that the love and kindness that has flooded into my life has been remarkable. Every turn I take brings me so much, I am often overwhelmed and words are never enough.

Thank you everyone xo

Not sure what to expect over the next set of tests but the road ahead is simply one that brings me healing and grace. This is not at all a fight for me, this is an acceptance and a learning about what matters in life.

As a friend and fellow figurative artist Leslie Keeble inspires me to remember https://piedmontcraftsmen.org/artist/lesley-g-keeble/

. . .  D O N ‘ T     P O S T P O N E    J O Y  . . .

12 responses to “SPIRITED BIRDS WORKSHOP . . . We did it !!!”

  1. Pell Foster Avatar
    Pell Foster

    Hi Kate, I met you at Sue’s house when you visited our art class. I found your site when browsing Pinterest. I do hope that this has been a good day for you.
    Pell Foster

  2. June Gauvin Avatar
    June Gauvin

    Oh how I love all those magical Kate creatures, not only the originals from Kate but the ones inspired by Kate. Always thinking of you Kate and sending prayers and positive thoughts. Keep hanging in there girl. Love you, June Gauvin

  3. angela gentleman Avatar
    angela gentleman

    I have read this post many times Kate. The work is joyous and you are amazing in so many many ways. I am grateful you are in my life and love and celebrate all that you are. Thank you. Xxx
    ________________________________

  4. jeannette jennings Avatar
    jeannette jennings

    Dear Kate
    I am very sorry to hear that you have breast cancer. However, I want to tell you that my daughter was diagnosed with an advanced and aggressive breast cancer 5 years ago.
    She continues to have treatment and life is good. I want you to know that there is a future and you will be back to creating your magical and amazing little people. I am now 78 and enjoying every day because of you. The best and most enjoyable experience I’ve had were classes with you. Every little figure I create brings me peace and joy and helps me through the difficult times, for which I am most grateful.
    I wish you good health and send you all the energy my mind and body can forward.
    Much love and huge hugs
    Jeannette Jennings

  5. Kathy McMillan Avatar
    Kathy McMillan

    Kate, I am praying for you and you can beat this! Bless you and heal fast <3

  6. judeprashaw Avatar

    Hi Kate, I briefly met you in Mahone Bay one day when I was living in Blue Rocks for the school year. As I started to read your newsletter I thought, Kate should do video lessons and then I smiled as I finished your letter.

    Sorry to hear about your cancer diagnosis. I don’t know what you feel about medical marijuana, but I have been doing a lot of research regarding this, and I definitely recommend it. Green Oil Machine User Group on Facebook is a wealth of knowledge. I don’t mean to intrude but I thought I’d share my thoughts. I’m helping my ex journey with glioblastoma, brain cancer, and also a spinal tumor. I finally convinced him to vape cannabis which has really helped his nausea and anxiety.

    I wish you well on your journey,

    Jude

  7. Ezshwan Winding Avatar

    Dear Kate, I am so sorry to hear about the cancer. I will hold you in my prayers for healing. I am impressed with your positive energy and that your brilliant creativity i being shared via the videos.

  8. Joy Bacon Avatar
    Joy Bacon

    Dear Kate,
    I am sorry to read that you are having to go through this medical journey. You are an inspiration. I wish you a fast and full recovery.
    I don’t know if you remember me, but I was able to meet you with my sister, mom and my sister’s husband at your house in Nova Scotia before you big changes. I love the idea that you and your sister are creating together and on-line workshops sound exciting.
    Take care and know that I will be sending happy thoughts and blessings your way.
    Joy

    Joy Bacon
    Email – joybacon@shaw.ca
    Home Phone Calgary – (403)246-1909
    Cell Phone – (587)582-4362
    Home Phone Scottsdale – (480)664-0459

    >

  9. Brenda Giffen Avatar
    Brenda Giffen

    Wishing you every, every comfort possible and a speedy recovery.

    Thank you for sharing your journey, and for sharing these absolutely inspired results from these people who are talented and inspired by you!!!

    How can we sign up for an on line workshop in Barrie Collingwood area?

    Love, Brenda

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  10. CINDEE L MOYER Avatar
    CINDEE L MOYER

    Kate, you shine such a positive light and I love that you’ve discovered online workshops to continue to share your artistic talent. Much love, Cindee

  11. Nora Robicheau Avatar
    Nora Robicheau

    Sending lots of love and light your way!
    (You might want to make this course available online, and even more courses, it would be a good stream of income for you…..)

  12. Sherri Morgan Avatar
    Sherri Morgan

    What an amazing solution! Hats off to those students who remained in the workshop. And now you have the start of online learning!

Leave a comment