life’s travels of then and now and . . .

Last month I shared how much change had come into my life and indeed it continues but there is more light and grace in my life than ever so I wanted to share a few of the new things that have happened and some that are on their way …

My spring workshops were wonderful, filled with gracious enthusiasm and exciting outcomes. My life is enriched on these journeys, they keep me and my heart in rhythm and colour with fabulous students and large creative days …

Here is an images from Charlottetown, North Carolina where we did the Dancing with Hoops class …

 

And then Albuquerque  one of my favorite places to teach  … feels like home to me now cause I get to work with Annie  …

 

 

 

My life then took me to Barga, Tuscany to visit friends and look at the possibility of teaching there in the future. A beautiful time and transformative experience in an artist’s paradise …

 

Then I took the train to do a private workshop for friends in Switzerland … we had a beautiful time and I got to see some of their beautiful world …

Into the future …

I will be in Mineral Point Wisconsin this fall to teach a week long workshop called Building Sculptural Character. It is my introductory workshop where we focus on all the building techniques for the figures I have taught myself to make. Secrets come out and laughter is a steady sound …

Here is a link for more info : http://www.katechurch.com/mineral-point-wisconsin-workshop-this-fall/

 

And !!!!!!!!

an exciting announcement of a class to be held in Durfort, Southern France next spring!!!

Want to travel to a beautiful little town to create with me?

I just put the information on my website and here is the link for it:

http://www.katechurch.com/pinocchio-and-bird-workshop-beautiful-la-cascade-durfort-france/

 

 

AND … there are a few new pieces that made it to my gallery shop The Flight of Fancy in Bear River Nova Scotia… two large horses from my show last summer called Cactus Flowering and Murder and the Moondancer

One that I have held on to for many years to use as a mascot for my teaching pages finally got his bike ready to roll called The Old Shoemaker and the Bicycle Thief …  it is standing on an antique shoe form full of holes from a real maker of soles :)

The fourth one is called Foxie and Blue, a piece that is a blue haired character with a fox on his mind… and I stole the name of this character for my spring workshop in Albuquerque because I liked it so much …

And finally I refinished a tiny piece that was waiting for  e v e r  for me to repair the hand. His tiny hand now holds an even tinier rabbit on a handle so it simply had to be called  Rattle …

At home walls, doors and stairways are continuing to be freshly painted, the now over-sized rich layers of wild roses, day lilies and hydrangias are being sculpted and trimmed so it can be readied for the market, it is a good decision to try and sell my house again. I feel this will help me manage these times of transition better than struggling to try and hold on to it.

I have enlisted the help of a dear artist friend and indeed, two makes the work go much faster and the heart grow lighter…

My home always loves attention so even though I am not in the studio as much as I want or will be things are definitely looking way way up as the Friendly Giant said !!

I am working on a small show for the Bridgewater Public Library in October called The Spirit Birds … it is work for a children’s book I have always wanted to write and this is bringing it closer to being realized. It is at the moment illustrative style paintings and the models : my three dimensional figures … I will begin to post about it very soonly …

it is good to be back writing my stories for you again ….

~ by kate church on August 9, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
