W r i t i n g on R E L I E F . . .

An intimate part of  the show are the writings from the journey of my work. As I completed the labels and added my words to the walls I felt I would also place them here with images to surround them, to include some of the emotional content that was part of creating this exhibit.

 

R E L I E F : my definition : Creating an altered surface. Somehow lifting things forward or moving over other things.

 

two rosas and domino box dancer

 

 

Human L A N D S C A P E :

Process : Discarded drawings painted over. Back to sessions with the model and draw again. Paint eraser conte crayon flannel pastel graphite; layers enriching lines pulling on the figures. Often the whole paper wiped, leaving only a faint trace  . . . then again . . .

human L A N D S C A P E drawings

Smearing drawing erasing scrubbing off areas scratching scribbling. In time I stopped watching and joined with the work climbing into the surfaces.

human L A N D S C A P E  2

Exploring red oxide and gold leaf over the skies, creating bright space above the horizon . . .  mark, colour, texture, surface found harmony. I felt the paper sing.

human L A N D S C A P E  4

Connecting papers is something I have played with for many years.  This series was created over four months of life drawing sessions. When papers emerged they seemed to fall into a natural sequence, into a larger form of the experience.

human L A N D S C A P E  6

The series became E I G H T papers…here is a slideshow of the series, just click on the first image and it will lead you through the sequence  . . .

 

 

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

 

To speak about a place of deep insecurity, of searching for  r e l i e f :      As I joined the surfaces during drawing sessions, as the work found strength and harmony in the sky, as I began to hold a paintbrush as I would a piece of graphite or conte  . . .  in those moments I found release.

 

.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .

 

Reflecting on Angels:

Symbolic of hope, flying, mischief, love, afterlife

I do not see the wings … to me angels are those who cross or enter your path without marking it . . . shifting perspective, opening possibility at the heart.

Breath of fresh air … purity and light … movement … raw kindness

If one became aware of the wings, there would then be the need to learn how to use them.

sense of wings alt light

 

.  .  .  .  .  .  .

Finding Relief : the connecting of different practices, using the strength of each … hitting straight through the lines, the layers, the doorways … then humbly starting again.

 

balance   20 x 25 ½“

 

.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .

 

Because liberty and ability was pushed gently towards strength, once I could hear him I was able to express with greater freedom … the gold layer brought both discovery and completion ~ like a crowning of the years it has taken to make these marks of emerging confidence.

 

blue   43 ½ x 23”

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

This work is my evolution, my relief.

I have always loved the idea of painting … somehow felt marked for it … in critique there has often been disfavour and discouragement … in reaction I have shied away.

I have returned repeatedly to the brushes, and the connection remains tentative. The desire to unearth deeper significance aches within and does not let go.

 

rose and gold   47 x 31”

 

The  p o e m s . . .

 

Insecurity                                                                                              

Deep                                                                                                    

Growing like sharp teeth on tender flesh                                                     

Like ancient rumours of bad blood.                                                            

                                                                                                            

In a flicker of remembering                                                                      

Reduced to the most intimate darkness.  

 

Questioning

 

Isolation     deep                                                                                                    

Playful     solemn

Intriguing     distant

Life     intensely     moving

Inside     the     stillness

Feeling     like     touching

Speaking     of     nothing                   

Longing  

 

Dream closer    

 

A beggar

Crying for applause

Approval

Wishing a stranger would recognize some greatness

And lift me up.

 

.  .  . . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .

 

gaze    39 x 34”

 

.   .   .   .   .   .   .

 

 

If I were to simplify all the words it would be that what has always been in my heart and soul … at last has entered my blood.

 

 

 

.   .   .   .   .   .   .

Metamorphous close up

 

The show now  rests  . . .  with   y o u .

      

                                                                     

                                                                                                                     

       

 

            

 

~ by kate church on July 17, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
