HOME s w e e t HOME….

shadow header

This travelling and teaching year began in early April a n d has been fabulous … I cannot begin to talk about all of it, as each class and every group of students was of so different and so incredibly rich… THANK YOU everyone!! The great thing for me is that every class is unique, those involved and the agendas people bring, combined with the personalities that connect and engage us together is so interesting. It always amazes me how individual these sessions truly are.

Albu 2 banner

Teaching has consumed me, in such a surprising and valuable way. What I teach is what I do. I bring myself and the many years spent inventing this process as our material. There is a framework, and as anyone who has worked with me knows, it is an extremely crammed framework, but it is my intention to deliver all of the basic skills needed to go ahead and do this work on your own after one of my introductory workshops. Of course the follow up element of practice is the best teacher but planting a basic process and delightful experience helps get you into your studios.

such fun

My next class will be in my home and is a try out for having small workshops here in Mahone Bay in the future. This pilot class is a group of my students who have been working with me for a while and are willing to allow me to test out some new ideas while we work away on their own personal projects and directions. If it proves successful I plan to hold future sessions here at my Nova Scotian home.

Elizabeth copy

AND also … I am developing an Advanced Series. My intention is to teach a variety of specific projects that encompass a direction or scale of sculpting and building … something quite focused and perhaps less frantic at the end?? … the plans are about to be tested … so at this point I can only plan and imagine …. a wonderful place to be.

The first one will be my final class of the year and promises be very exciting!!! It is being held in late September in Portola California (close to Reno for anyone wondering where Portola is) … This session was chosen from several ideas I have brewing. The theme is LITTLE BOXES  The poster is below and will appear on my Facebook page very shortly for anyone curious and interested. It is being hosted and organized by my friend and colleague Sherri Morgan, her contact info is at the bottom of the flyer OR here it is right now for those that are in a hurry … shesculpt@aol.com

ADVANCED SERIES -little boxes

on a personal note….belly

I have had a few inquiries about new work … with teaching being my main focus for this year, I have not had more than a few weeks between coming and going and preparing … so the work I have made has traveled along with me and sold as I traveled … delightful and light but I am aching to be in the studio for a longer time to work on a new collection. My time for this will be over the winter as I now have HOORAY! a studio in Mexico and will be able to devote time and focus to my work over the extended time we are planning to be there.  My aim is to launch new work over the website I am learning to make (has anyone noticed…I have only the bones so far and is being done in my spare time) but once built it will be the place I post my work as I make it, complete with an access for purchase for anyone who wishes to do such a lovely thing!

three amigos CROP

The website I am building is through a class instructed by a wonderful artist, curator and trainer, Susan Lomuto. A woman who has brought us the wonderful Daily Art Muse pages over the past years. She is teaching on line and here are links to her classes and website. I know another class is going to start in September because I will be part of that group as I continue to learn and create my dream site.

http://www.diyartistwebsites.com/

http://www.dailyartmuse.com/

As always with me, patience is the key!! And remembering I am a one man band of at least three bands!!

bird brains 2 banner

Sorry for the long winded post…but then it has been a w h i l e  ! ! !

p.s. I will soon post available work as well as teaching plans for 2014 …

s t a y    t u n e d    !  ! !

~ by kate church on August 18, 2013.

One Response to “HOME s w e e t HOME….”

  1. Hi Kate.
    I can’t help following your work. It is so addictive for me I could be on line 24/7 just gazing in wonder at your amazing creations. I love your wire figure with the belly sign. It made me laugh out load!
    This past summer taking your class in Toronto was the highlight of my year. I am hoping that you come back in 2014.
    Yes it is an extremely crammed framework but I do believe that your students are responsible for that. We get so wrapped up in the process no one wants to stop. You kindly accommodate our thirst and cheer us on! How great is that! I am looking forward to an advanced class, however, truthfully I would take any class you offer again. You are so inspiring, so talented and so generous. I wish you all the success with your new direction.
    Thank you for a wonderful class.
    Cheers,
    Jeannette Jennings

Leave a Reply

 
